Veg Fast Food Guide
If you're on the road or hanging out with non-veg friends, you may want to know what vegan products are available at fast food and chain restaurants around the country. To find out what some of the national chains have to offer, simply scroll down the page.
Also, keep in mind that most ethnic restaurants carry or can provide vegan dishes. Chinese restaurants frequently carry tofu and always have vegetable and rice dishes. Mexican restaurants often have vegan burritos and similar items (as long as the beans aren't cooked in lard). Indian restaurants often have numerous vegan selections. Thai and Indian restaurants often have vegetarian sections on their menu, and Italian restaurants often have vegan pastas.
But if it's fast food you're after, here are vegan (and a few vegetarian) products you can find at chain restaurants:
Applebee's - The Sizzling Vegetable Skillet is vegan if requested without butter, and you can also order a salad, the steamed vegetable plate, or french fries.
Arby's - The garden salad, side salad, apple or cherry turnovers, baked potato and potato cakes, and many of their sauces are vegan, bbq sauce, & bbq dipping sauce are all vegan.
Au Bon Pain - The plain, sesame, and cinnamon raisin bagels are vegan. Other options are the garden vegetarian soup, the caribbean black bean soup & a salad.
Auntie Anne's - The original, Whole Wheat, Cinnamon Sugar, Garlic, Jalapeno, and Glazin' Raisin can be vegan if requested without butter.
Baskin-Robbins - The ices and the sorbets are vegan.
Big Bowl Asian Kitchen - Offers some great options with their stir-fry bar and salad selection, and their Kung Pao dishes can also be prepared without any chicken stock. Peanut noodles, vegetable potstickers and wontons are vegan. The vegetarian wonton soup and shanghai vegetables are also vegan. They also have a delicious vegetable broth that can substituted for Chicken broth in many recipes upon request.
Ben & Jerry's - Their sorbets are vegan.
Blimpie - A vegan veggie sub can be made upon request.
Bojangles - The cajun pinto beans, corn on the cob (without butter), green beans & the marinated coleslaw are all vegan.
Boston Market - Chunky cinnamon applesauce, apple cobbler, fruit salad, zucchini marinara, cranberry walnut relish, & steamed veggies are all vegan.
Bruegger's Bagel Bakery - Most of the bagels are vegan. Non-vegan bagels are the honey grain bagel, egg bagel, sun-dried tomato and spinach herb bagels, and the jalapeño cheddar bagel. You can top the bagels with vegan hummus. Vegan soups include the Chile Cilantro, Garden Split Pea, Vegetable Tomato Lentil, Tucson Minestrone, Gazpacho, Marcello Minestrone, Roasted Roma Tomato & Ratatouille. Also, the Leonardo da Veggie sandwich can be made vegan-style.
Burger King - Unfortunately the BK Veggie Burger is not vegan, though it is obviously suitable for vegetarians.
Carl's Jr. - The baked potato topped with broccoli & served with the margarine pats is a vegan option, as are the breadsticks, fries, English muffins, CrissCuts, three-bean salad and salad bar.
Chi-Chi's - Chi-Chi's has many items that are or can be made vegan, including: Chi-Chi’s Original Mild and Hot Garden Salsa, Ensalada del Casa (Vegan if requested without cheese or Dressing),Guacamole, Roasted Tomato-Red Pepper Habanero Sauce, Baked Potato (Vegan if requested without cheese or sour cream), Vegetable Fajitas (vegan if requested without sour cream and cheese condiments), Vegetable Skewers, Refried Beans (vegan if requested without sour cream or cheese), Bean Burrito (vegan if requested without Enchilada Sauce and cheese), Bean Soft Taco (vegan if requested without cheese), and the applesauce.
Chick-Fil-A - Any Cool Wrap can be ordered vegan without chicken or cheese, same for the salad. Also offers fruit cups and waffle fries.
Chipotle - Their crispy corn and soft wheat tortillas, the cilantro-lime rice, seasoned black beans, fajita vegetables, salsas, guacamole, and the romaine lettuce are all vegan. A vegetarian burrito or an order of tacos without sour cream or cheese would also be a good vegan choice.
Chuck E. Cheese - Pizza can be ordered without cheese, and there is also a salad bar.
Church's Chicken - The apple turnover is vegan, as is the corn on the cob when ordered without butter.
Country Kitchen International - The following can be specially ordered vegan: Oatmeal without glass of milk; Garden Salad entrée size with no dressing; Sauteed vegetables; Vegetable stir fry (request double vegetables instead of chicken); Spaghetti without meatballs and cheese.
Del Taco - The French fries, chips, green chili sauce & hot sauces are vegan.
Denny's - Denny's currently carries a Boca Burger which is vegetarian, but not vegan. Vegan items are the hashed browns/hashed browns with veggies (onions, green peppers, mushrooms, tomato, diced green onion), Diced Skillet potatoes,Diced Skillet potatoes with veggies (onions, green peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, diced green onions), oatmeal, grits, fresh fruit, applesauce, nut topping, any fruit topping, frozen strawberries, and various toasts, engligh muffins, and bagels.
El Pollo Loco - The BRC burrito is vegan if you order it without cheese. The flour, spinach-flavored, and tomato-flavored tortillas are vegan. The corn on the cob, cucumber salad, guacamole, hot sauce, italian dressing, pinto beans, salsa, & spiced apples are also vegan.
Flat Top Grill - Easy to make a vegan stir-fry using the ingredients they provide to all customers.
Fuddrucker's - The fudwrapper is vegan if ordered without the cheese. All tortillas other than the cheese are vegan also.
Giovanni's Pizza - Pizza is vegan if made without cheese, they also offer salads.
Godfather's Pizza - A vegetarian specialty pizza may be ordered without the cheese to make it vegan. The pizza dough, original and taco pizza sauce are vegan. Some locations have salads.
Golden Corral - Golden Corral is a buffet concept which offers a full salad bar with all sorts of fresh fruits and vegetables.
Gold Star Chili - The red beans, tossed salad and spaghetti are vegan.
Hard Rock Cafe - Carries a veggie burger and veggie sandwich and salads (check to see if they're vegan)
Houlihan's - The tomato bruschetta is vegan if you ask that the romano cheese be left off. A vegan salad can be ordered without meat and cheese, and topped with an oil & vinegar dressing. They also have a vegan pasta dish consisting of rigatoni and marinara sauce.
Howard Johnson's Restaurants - Spaghetti and plain sauce is a vegan option, and they also offer garden salads.
In-N-Out Burger - A Wish burger with mustard or ketchup instead of the dressing would be vegan, as are the fries and buns.
Iron Skillet - Offers a stacked salad bar and also lots of pasta that's vegan.
Jack In The Box - Pita bread, potato wedges, the grape, strawberry and capuccino syrups, the hot, taco, teriyaki, barbeque, sweet and sour and soy sauces, malt vinegar packet, salsa and apple turnovers are vegan.
Jamba Juice - Vegan smoothies include the Jamba PowerBoost and Protein Berry Pizzazz, both of which are made with sorbet. Many other juices are vegan as well
Johnny Rockets - caries the Streamliner, a vegan Boca burger with all the fixins, plus salads and other vegan sides.
Kenny Rogers' Roasters - A "side sampler" consisting of three side dishes can be made to order and be vegan. Side dishes include corn on the cob, side salads, baked potatoes, and baked hubbard squash.
Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) - The 3 bean salad is vegan, as is the corn on the cob if you get it without the butter, and some locations have a garden salad.
Little Caesar's - Pizza is vegan if made without cheese. Also vegan is the crazy sauce & the crazy bread (if ordered without the parmesan), and they also offer salads.
Long John Silver's - Ordering a wrap void of the meat, batter crumbles & white sauce (you can use picante sauce in it's place) is vegan. Rice and corn cobbettes without butter are vegan.
Old Spaghetti Factory - Both the Spaghetti with Tomato Sauce "Marinara" and the Spaghetti with Mushroom Sauce are vegan entrees. They also offer salads with a vegan Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing.
Olive Garden - Has vegan pasta with marinara sauce, as well as vegan mushroom raviolis which can order with the marinara sauce. Salads can also be ordered with oil and vinegar.
Outback Steakhouse - The steamed veggies (if requested without seasoning), baked potatoes, and sweet potatoes are all vegan.
Panera Bread - Has vegan soups (rotating menu) and rolls as well as salads, and bagels with humus.
Papa John's Pizza - Can make vegan pizzas without cheese.
Pita Pit - Their four vegan pitas are Garden, Hummus, Babaganouj, and Falafel. Vegan sauces include Special Sauce, Dijon mustard, mustard, hot sauce, and BBQ.
Pizza Hut - Pizza without cheese is vegan, as are their spaghetti marinara sauce, pasta, Italian and French dressings, dessert pizza crust, cherry topping and the icing.
Pizzeria Uno - Regular and thin crust pizzas are vegan if ordered without cheese, and deep dish can be specially ordered vegan as well. All pasta is vegan, and there is a vegan Grilled Vegetable Marinara served with ziti pasta. There are a number of salads including Pasta & Greens (marinated ziti pasta tossed with salad greens and served with Ike's dressing), and the House Salad (tomatoes, carrots, onions, peppers, cucumbers, and croutons) as well. Breadsticks are also vegan.
Popeye's - The apple pie & the corn on the cob (if requested without butter) are vegan.
Quizno's - Offers a delicious veggie sub (just order it without the cheese and red-wine vinagertte dressing). Also has salad and chips.
Rita's Italian Ices - The water ices & pretzels are vegan.
Round Table Pizza - Has vegan salads and also a garden Vegetable sandwich that is vegan if you request it without cheese and garlic sauce.
Roy Rogers - Offers baked potatoes, fries, sides of veggies, and a salad bar.
Ruby Tuesday - Offers a vegan veggie burger and a Portabello Mushroom sandwich (both can be ordered without cheese), as well as a salad bar.
Subway - A Vegan Veggie hoagie without cheese can be ordered. Some subways also carry Vegan Boca Burgers or White Wave soy turkey subs.
Taco Bell - The burrito, corn, & wheat (used for the soft tacos) tortillas are all vegan. The pinto beans & red sauce are also vegan. So is the green sauce, the hot & mild sauces, the pico de gallo & the salsa. The tortilla chips, taco, tostada, taco salad & pizza shells are all vegan, and you can specially order a vegan Mexican Pizza by telling them what ingredients you want. Other vegan items are the cinnamon twists & the border ice products. All "Fresca" menu items come without cheese or sour cream.
Taco Del Mar - Plenty of vegan burrito options.
Taco John's International - The bean burritos are vegan if ordered without the cheese, and the guacamole & the nachos (without cheese) are vegan.
T.G.I Friday's - The veggie medley is vegan so long as you get it with a plain baked potato . They also offer vegan house salads.
Tony Roma's - The side salad and baked potato are vegan, as is the side salad.
Wendy's - Vegan choices include the french fries, deluxe garden salad with French of Italian dressing, applesauce, and taco chips. They also offer a veggie sandwich which is everything on that would be a normal burger but without the meat (tell them to hold the mayo).
Whataburger - Carries a veggie Boca Burger, as well as vegan apple turnovers and fries.